The Ship Model Forum

The Ship Modelers Source
It is currently Wed Apr 17, 2024 7:05 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2011 1:43 pm 

Ok here goes, first off I've never made a boat this big before, scratch built some merchant vessels in 1/700 many years ago and did all the usual plastic model tricks and trips in various scales, but nothing this big or daunting....if anyone needs tips in how not to do it then this'll be the place to watch :).

The title is a little loose right now, I've always been interested in USN from WWII to the present day and seeing some of the models now coming along I figured it was time to get stuck in and see what sort off mess I can make of it all :).

I'm stuck with 1:96 as that seems to be the best size for mid range models (that one can lift on ones own) and after market parts and extras and just big enough to have presence (I've been modeling virtual models for 13 years so a seven foot warship fits that quite well I think). The choice has come down to two classes, Baltimore's or Cleveland's, both of which have pluses and minuses, I like the Cleveland's post war, especially the mixed weapon vessels from the 60's, though a WWII one would be nice too. The Baltimore's I like in WWII (they seem a little more chunky/stocky) as well as Korea and also like the mixed weapons and 'tall ladies' from Vietnam.

Getting info isn't hard from the web (generic info) but always seems to fall to a category thats not in my top 3, of course one can purchase plans from well known vendors but there are free ones available too, as luck would have it CG-11 and CL-89 are available as booklet of plans from the internet, though they do need cleaning up. Both of these have given me hull information so that allows some progress to be made but opens more cans of worms elsewhere :).