The Ship Model Forum

The Ship Modelers Source
It is currently Tue Sep 18, 2018 9:50 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Supplies and resources
PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 6:55 pm 
Offline
Model Monkey
Model Monkey

Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 9:27 pm
Posts: 2987
Location: USA
Here are some sources for supplies and materials to help in building your masterpieces. This list, of course, is very incomplete naming just a few of the many sources available. Please patronize ModelWarships.com sponsors and add to the thread as you find good sources.

Card Models (very useful as templates for scratchbuilding)
GPM http://www.gpm.pl/ (available in North America via Hobby Factory http://www.hobbyfactory.com/index.php?cPath=65_66 )

Display Cases
Blue Jacket Shipcrafters http://www.bluejacketinc.com/cases.htm
Gemo Displays http://www.gemodisplays.com/
Grandpas Cabinets http://www.grandpascabinets.com/

Hulls, Superstructures, Turrets and Fittings
3D Modelparts http://3dmodelparts.com/
Bluejacket Shipcrafters http://www.bluejacketinc.com/
Deans Marine http://www.deansmarine.co.uk/
diStefan http://www.shapeways.com/designer/distefan
GPM http://www.gpm.pl/
L'Arsenal http://www.larsenal.com/
Loyalhanna Dockyard http://www.loyalhannadockyard.com/
Master Model http://www.master-model.pl/
Model Monkey http://modelmonkey.wixsite.com/modelmonkey
Scale Shipyard http://scaleshipyard.com/Main%20Pages/main.html
Scalewarship https://www.scalewarship.com/
Shelf Oddity http://shelfoddity.com/
Starling Models http://www.starling-models.co.uk/

Photo-etch
Akamod http://www.akamodel.com/en/
Bluejacket Shipcrafters http://www.bluejacketinc.com/
Flagship Models http://www.flagshipmodels.com/flagship/Detail_Sets.html
Floating Drydock http://floatingdrydock.com/model.htm
Flyhawk http://www.flyhawkmodel.com/
Gold Medal Models http://www.goldmm.com/ships/gms7ordr.htm
Hobby Factory http://www.hobbyfactory.com/index.php?c ... e55cee5771
John R Haynes http://www.johnrhaynes.com/ Available in USA thorugh Loyalhanna or Floating Drydock
KA Models http://www.ka-models.com/?ckattempt=1
Lionroar http://www.lionroar.net/
Toms Modelworks http://www.tomsmodelworks.com/ShipDetailSets-small.asp
White Ensign Models https://www.whiteensignmodels.com/

Plans
Card Models as plans: Hobby Factory http://www.hobbyfactory.com
Floating Drydock http://floatingdrydock.com/
National Archives (USA via Maryland Silver Company) http://www.marylandsilver.com/
National Maritime Museum (UK) http://www.nmm.ac.uk/server/show/conWebDoc.238
Pacific Front http://www.pacificfront.com/Plans.asp
Robert Hahn (RMS Titanic) http://www.titanic-plan.de/
Smithsonian Institution http://americanhistory.si.edu/csr/shipplan.htm
Taubman Plans (via Loyalhanna Dockyard) http://www.loyalhannadockyard.com/

Resin and Rubber Mold Casting Supplies
Polytek https://www.polytek.com/cgi-bin/webc.cg ... l?catid=20
Bare Metal Foil http://www.bare-metal.com/

Styrene Sheet, V-grooved Sheet (planked deck), Rod, Strip, Tube, etc.
Evergreen (via Walthers) http://www.walthers.com/exec/search?qui ... h_butt.y=3
Plastruct http://www.plastruct.com/Home.html

Tools
Micromark http://www.micromark.com/

_________________
Have fun, Monkey around.

-Steve Larsen

Complete catalog of over 1900 designs for scale modelers:
3D-printed gray resin - https://www.model-monkey.com/
3D-printed white acrylic - https://modelmonkey.wixsite.com/modelmonkey


Last edited by ModelMonkey on Thu Nov 24, 2016 8:51 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 9:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 6:03 pm
Posts: 436
Location: SoCal
Another PT-boat site:

http://www.pt-boat.com/
Laser cut 1/35 and 1/20 wood hulls and detailed drawing, mathematics on prop performance and how's with the fittings. It also talks of the different types of motors to use. It is a nice site

_________________
Reid, PIO of the 48th Fleet
http://www.48thfleet.com


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2007 10:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 7:08 am
Posts: 119
Location: Nebraska, USA
Hi, i had this site bookmarked from a while back. I dont remember the original person who found this site and posted it here but its has free plans for French warships. Its all in French but its pretty easy to find the ship you are looking for and go from there, hope it helps.

http://www.servicehistorique.sga.defens ... tebato.php

_________________
How do you tell a communist? Well, it's someone who reads Marx and Lenin. How do you tell an anti-Communist? It's someone who understands Marx and Lenin. - Ronald Reagan


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2016 5:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2015 6:21 am
Posts: 3
If you are an avid ship modeler and looking to purchase advanced ship models and wood ship kits from the top notch distributors like Amati, Dusek, Euromodel, Mantua, Midwest, Panart, Sergal, Nordic Class Boats, Soclaine, Turk Model, and others, then visit Agesofsail. They carry a huge assortment of wooden ship kits and models from the leading distributors.

_________________
Wooden Ship Kits | Wood Ship Kits | Wooden Model Ship Kits | Ship Model Kits


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2017 5:45 pm 
Superstructure kits: http://www.cnc-models.com

Inspiration: http://www.warshipmodelsunderway.com


Report this post
Top
  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: englishgunner and 5 guests


You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group