The Ship Model Forum

The Ship Modelers Source
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 12:10 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 7:48 pm 

Greetings All! :wave_1:

I have been asked by Pavel, of Admiralty Model Works, to design a model of USCGC Bertholf (WMSL-750) for use in future model kits. I agreed to do it in exchange for him printing my personal 3D parts.
I should perhaps first say that I am by no means an expert in CAD solid modeling, although I have been using AutoCad for several years (since AutoCad 9, that was on several of those old 5-1/2” floppy disks) for doing my site and project layouts in 2D, and am currently using AutoCad Civil3D. The modeling I am doing is not intended to create beautiful, well rendered and textured virtual models, but rather to create models that can be effectively exported to STL files for 3D printing.

The first model I did was a 1/144 scale USS Greenling (SSN-614).

viewtopic.php?f=59&t=125875

Actually, it was (or will be) two models, as I first made one with no details, then later added a lot of detail to make another. The CAD work on both models is complete. The non-detailed version is mostly built, but awaiting printing of a couple of fairings I decided to add to give it at least some detail. The detailed version is waiting for printing as well.

My second (or third) CAD model is a 1/144 scale USS Batfish (SS-310), that I am currently working on.

http://www.subcommittee.com/phpBB3/view ... 35&t=11415

Pavel, upon seeing these build threads, contacted me, and here we are.

So far, I have designed 3 small items for Pavel and AMW, all intended for production at both 1/350 scale and 1/700 scale. The items include:

A Goalkeeper CIWS – viewtopic.php?f=27&t=152674

A Tilly Crane for WW2 Carriers - viewtopic.php?f=2&t=152775

A Moto Tug for WW2 Carriers - viewtopic.php?f=2&t=152798