The Ship Model Forum

The Ship Modelers Source
It is currently Tue Nov 20, 2018 9:20 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 129 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2009 10:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 9:46 am
Posts: 596
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine
Thank you for this valuable suggestion :thumbs_up_1: I will look for Inventor.


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 2:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 10:15 pm
Posts: 1429
Location: State of Denial
I have found that Inventor has severe limitations compared to SW. It can't do configurations and doesn't have the surfacing tools SW has. However it is more stable and is cheaper if you wait for a sale.


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 1:58 pm
Posts: 73
Location: Salisbury, NC USA
I would have to agree, stay away from inventor it will be very disappointing.

SolidWorks can get you up and running very quickly. I have been using it since 1997 (mold and machine design), and can model just about anything in it. My company also used Pro engineer and Catia, I almost always go with SolidWorks when I get a project, I actually get product and drawings out quicker. I have even done a 1/350 scale Graf Zepplin in it and have printed it in a 3d printer.


Todd


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2009 3:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 9:46 am
Posts: 596
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine
Graf Zeppelin 1:350 printed on 3d printer... :faint: This is eXACTLY what I dream to achieve.

If it is possible I would be anxious to see the picture pleeeease of Graf Zeppelin (or any ready ship model printed on 3d printer this way) :worship_1:

I would also be very interested to know whether you have done some manual operations with the model after printing it on 3d printer - models like GZ in 1:350 are quite 'long' so I understand you had to print it in 'portions' and then glue. Is it advisable to do some manual upfit like railings and rigging or THE PRINTER does all the job.

Thank you very much for your information!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yevgeniy


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 10:15 pm
Posts: 1429
Location: State of Denial
3D Printers don't have a very high resolution, i.e. dot's per inch. It's not like regular printing where you can print lines with very high quality. After the 3D "print" there is a lot of cleanup. It's good for getting the basic shape and size down, but details have to be done manually. That has been my experience, they might have some super-duper high res version out now that does everything for you, but they didn't when Tim and I were drooling over them.


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2009 10:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 9:46 am
Posts: 596
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine
Yes, I know about resolution problem - that is why I am even more interested to see how lucky guys print now on 3d printers (especially ships being complex structures with many details). So far I have seen only 3d printer advertisement short movie...you know you can not believe advertisements :heh:

Whatever the case now I believe 3d printers will change the ways we do modeling in some 10 years when they found economic ways of making them and cut down the price to a normal paper printer :heh: . I believe by that time they will also achieve much higher resolution.

But I am still drooloing to see Graf Zeppelin in 1:350 printed on 3d printer :worship_1:


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 10:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 10:15 pm
Posts: 1429
Location: State of Denial
Yeah, it would still be pretty cool.


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 12:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 11:41 pm
Posts: 8
I use both Solid Edge and Solid Works myself, been using each for ~9 years now.

Barrel Backed Chris Craft
Austin Healey type shell

the above were done in Solid Edge, I am looking to digitize a USS Missouri and model that next :).


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 11:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 11:11 pm
Posts: 4
Cadman wrote:
OK how many drafters do we have here? I use AutoCAD on a regular basis and have even done a ship or two. How about you all?



Cad drafter / designer / mad scientist for 20 years. Started with AutoCad V 9.0. Drafted for Proctor and Gamble & Pirelli Cable for years. Used BobCad for CNC stuff years ago and now do lots of solid modeling and CNC machining with Solidworks fro my own business.

A friend of mine bought BaD Ship models last year and I have been bringing all of the kit parts into 21st century production using AutoCad and Solidworks. I've been reverse engineering the original wooden patterns and creating laser cutting files for the parts.

My latest bit of fun has been bring all the Charles F Adams parts into Solidworks and assemble the ship... still have a ways to go though.

Lots of fun!


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2009 3:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:22 pm
Posts: 9
I'm a Mechanical Engineer (may be Moniacal Engineer) and I use Autocad to make 2D and 3D drawings and Bobcad to turn the Autocad drawings into G code for my CNC router.


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 9:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 8:46 pm
Posts: 182
Rhino3D 4.0. I am also trying to learn tsplines, which is a Rhino plug-in. Michael


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 2:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 6:02 am
Posts: 1
What can i expect financially with a CAD degree? I am going to school to earn an associates cad degree. Computer art drafting. I plan to draw architectual plans maybe other things. What can i expect to earn financially starting out then future outlook?


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 6:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 11:02 am
Posts: 9663
Location: EG48
I would imagine a lot of it depends on the industry and experience, even coming out of school. In the US, for example, what with the decrease in building projects, there's less need for traditional architectural CAD until people start planning and building new office spaces, etc. But people are still designing airplanes, ships, etc.

_________________
Tracy White -Researcher@Large

"Let the evidence guide the research. Do not have a preconceived agenda which will only distort the result."
-Barbara Tuchman


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 9:47 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 4:31 pm
Posts: 3381
Location: Plattsburg, Missouri
It really depends on where you live. Here in the Midwest it's 25 to 45k. But there is not a lot of hiring going on.

_________________
Timothy Dike
Owner & Administrator
ModelWarships.com


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 8:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 8:08 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Norfolk VA
Newbee, here :smallsmile:. I Just recently retired from from a naval engineering activity and I am trying to get back into model building (1/700 scale ship & 1/72 scale ac). Last time I built a model ship was in the late 60's.

I am fairly proficient in AutoCAD, ship installation drawings, incl 3D work. However, I have yet to try may hand at virtual model building. I hope to get up to speed on it later this year, once I get CAD / CAM set up for this. In the meantime, I am in the process of tooling up.

By the way, where is a good place for newcomer to start on this website?
Looking for directions.
-Tom B.


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2010 12:03 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 10:12 am
Posts: 510
Location: long way SSE of Woomera
tombrashear wrote:
Newbee, here :smallsmile:. By the way, where is a good place for newcomer to start on this website?
Looking for directions.-Tom B.

Tom
This is as good as any place to start, welcome :big_grin:
Directions? bugs always sed "I should've turned left at al-bee-kirk-ee"
Tony


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2010 4:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 8:08 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Norfolk VA
Thnx Tony.

...Hey, wasn't that the wrong turn that landed bugs in Tazmania?

Anyway, looks like there is a lot offered on this website. I esp like the photogallery. Some really amazing craftmanship... ...I wonder if they post 3D renditions too.


-Tom B.


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2010 12:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 11:02 am
Posts: 9663
Location: EG48
Tom: as far as I know it hasn't been done before, but I'd like to see it. Try contacting CADman (he might be a little biased in your favor as you can guess :heh: ) or Sean Hert.

_________________
Tracy White -Researcher@Large

"Let the evidence guide the research. Do not have a preconceived agenda which will only distort the result."
-Barbara Tuchman


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2010 12:46 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 4:31 pm
Posts: 3381
Location: Plattsburg, Missouri
There are a few virtual ships in our gallery. So if you want to submit photos of your CAD work, they will be treated the same. Post some of your in progress shots here and we can offer some tips.

_________________
Timothy Dike
Owner & Administrator
ModelWarships.com


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2010 5:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 8:08 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Norfolk VA
OK, thnx.

As previously indicated, I am currently in the processes of tooling up, so I won't get my first stab
at virtural model building until later this year.

Also, I take it that jpg conversions would be preferred over the rendered objects themselves.
As I recall, the rendered files tend to be memory hogs.

-Tom B.


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 129 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group