The Ship Model Forum

The Ship Modelers Source
It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 11:14 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 4:35 pm 

Hi guys I am new to ship modelling after modeling aircraft for over 30 yrs. I would like to model me a few 12ft long ship models for radio control.

I would Like to do the Bismark, Yamamoto, Sumner or Fletcher class destroyer, and Possibly a Battleship like the Arizona.

Those are my wishlists. I have been using solidworks for several years now lofting aircraft fuselages but am having trouble doing a boat hull. I tried to see if I could find some premodeled hulls that I could use as a base and do all the deckwork from there to save time but alas havent been able to.

I dont mind starting from scratch as this way I can hopefully learn how to loft hulls. But I look at the drawings and station views and am totally lost as to where to start.
I am kinda looking for a mentor to get me off on the right track. it would be nice to find someone familiar with cad that lived in the states or canada as I can call for free anywhere in canada and the states and sometimes it easier over the phone than email or foum tag. I plane to do a nice WIP of my design and when finished dont have a problem sharing but thats a ways off yet.

Anyone out there that can give a fellow modeller a moment.

thanks
Joe H.

Report this post
PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 11:27 pm 

Heres a few screenshots of my sumner class I would like to get the hull into solidworks

Attachments:
sumner2.jpg
sumner2.jpg [ 26.23 KiB | Viewed 1247 times ]
sumner3.jpg
sumner3.jpg [ 28.15 KiB | Viewed 1247 times ]
Report this post
PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 11:31 pm 

couple more

Attachments:
sumner4.jpg
sumner4.jpg [ 62.32 KiB | Viewed 1247 times ]
sumner1.jpg
sumner1.jpg [ 31.7 KiB | Viewed 1247 times ]
sumner5.jpg
sumner5.jpg [ 50.97 KiB | Viewed 1247 times ]
Report this post
PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 11:46 pm