The Ship Model Forum

The Ship Modelers Source
It is currently Wed Dec 19, 2018 10:53 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Supplies and resources
PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 6:55 pm 
Offline
Model Monkey
Model Monkey

Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 9:27 pm
Posts: 3091
Location: USA
Here are some sources for supplies and materials to help in building your masterpieces. This list, of course, is very incomplete naming just a few of the many sources available. Please patronize ModelWarships.com sponsors and add to the thread as you find good sources.

Casting Supplies
Polytek https://www.polytek.com
Bare Metal Foil http://www.bare-metal.com/

Decals
Starfighter Decals https://www.starfighter-decals.com/

Display Cases and Baseboards
Blue Jacket Shipcrafters http://www.bluejacketinc.com/cases.htm
Grandpa's Cabinets http://www.grandpascabinets.com/

Figures
Deans Marine http://www.deansmarine.co.uk/
Preiser (via Walthers) http://www.walthers.com/exec/productinfo/590-80909

How-to CDs
Flagship Models http://www.flagshipmodels.com/flagship/Detail_Sets.html

Hulls, Fittings, Turrets and Weapons, Propellers, Wood Decks
3D Modelparts http://3dmodelparts.com/
Bluejacket Shipcrafters http://www.bluejacketinc.com/
Deans Marine http://www.deansmarine.co.uk/
diStefan: https://www.shapeways.com/shops/distefano_3dprint?li=pb
GPM http://www.gpm.pl/
HiSModel https://www.hismodel.com/
John R. Haynes http://www.johnrhaynes.com
Kokoda Trail Models https://www.shapeways.com/shops/Frenobulax
L'Arsenal http://www.larsenal.com/
Loyalhanna Dockyard http://www.loyalhannadockyard.com/
Micro Master https://www.shapeways.com/shops/micro-master
Model Monkey https://modelmonkey.wixsite.com/modelmonkey
RC Subs https://www.rcsubs.cz/
Scale Decks https://scaledecks.com/
The Scale Shipyard http://scaleshipyard.com/Main%20Pages/main.html
Starfighter Decals https://www.starfighter-decals.com/

Paint
Colourcoats https://www.sovereignhobbies.co.uk/
Tru Color Paint http://trucolorpaint.com/
True North Paints https://www.truenorthpaints.com/

Photo-etch
Flagship Models http://www.flagshipmodels.com/flagship/Detail_Sets.html
Gold Medal Models http://www.goldmm.com/ships/gms7ordr.htm
Toms Modelworks http://www.tomsmodelworks.com/ShipDetailSets-small.asp
White Ensign Models http://www.whiteensignmodels.com/acatal ... atalogBody

Photos
Destroyer History Trust http://www.destroyerhistory.org/
National Maritime Museum (UK) http://www.nmm.ac.uk/cgi-bin/empower?DB ... sAndPhotos
NavSource (US Navy) http://www.navsource.org/index2.htm
Navy Photos (UK) http://www.navyphotos.co.uk/index.htm
Navy NewsStand (US Navy) http://www.news.navy.mil/search/list.asp
SeaPhoto http://www.warshipphotos.com

Plans
Card Models as plans: Hobby Factory http://www.hobbyfactory.com
Floating Drydock http://floatingdrydock.com/
Loyalhanna Dockyard http://www.loyalhannadockyard.com/
National Archives (USA via Maryland Silver Company) http://www.marylandsilver.com/
National Maritime Museum (UK) http://www.nmm.ac.uk/server/show/conWebDoc.238
Pacific Front http://www.pacificfront.com/Plans.asp
Smithsonian Institution http://americanhistory.si.edu/csr/shipplan.htm

Resin and Rubber Mold Casting Supplies
Bare Metal Foil http://www.bare-metal.com/
Polytek https://www.polytek.com/cgi-bin/webc.cg ... l?catid=20

Styrene Sheet, V-grooved Sheet (planked deck), Rod, Strip, Tube, etc.
Evergreen (via Walthers) http://www.walthers.com/exec/search?qui ... h_butt.y=3
Plastruct http://www.plastruct.com/Home.html

Tools
Micromark http://www.micromark.com/

Weapons Data
NavWeaps http://www.navweaps.com/Weapons/index_weapons.htm

_________________
Have fun, Monkey around.

-Steve Larsen

Catalogs of over 2000 products for scale modelers:
3D-printed gray resin (best material!) - https://www.model-monkey.com/
3D-printed Shapeways' white acrylic - https://modelmonkey.wixsite.com/modelmonkey


Last edited by ModelMonkey on Wed Jul 25, 2018 7:32 am, edited 2 times in total.

Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 9:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 6:03 pm
Posts: 436
Location: SoCal
Another PT-boat site:

http://www.pt-boat.com/
Laser cut 1/35 and 1/20 wood hulls and detailed drawing, mathematics on prop performance and how's with the fittings. It also talks of the different types of motors to use. It is a nice site

_________________
Reid, PIO of the 48th Fleet
http://www.48thfleet.com


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2007 10:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 7:08 am
Posts: 119
Location: Nebraska, USA
Hi, i had this site bookmarked from a while back. I dont remember the original person who found this site and posted it here but its has free plans for French warships. Its all in French but its pretty easy to find the ship you are looking for and go from there, hope it helps.

http://www.servicehistorique.sga.defens ... tebato.php

_________________
How do you tell a communist? Well, it's someone who reads Marx and Lenin. How do you tell an anti-Communist? It's someone who understands Marx and Lenin. - Ronald Reagan


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Scale Hardware
PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 3:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 10:46 am
Posts: 2125
Location: Hoboken, NJ
I just found out about this website:

http://www.scalehardware.com/

Lots of cool little bolts, nuts, rivets, etc. for the large scale builder.

_________________
We like our history sanitized and theme-parked and self-congratulatory, not bloody and angry and unflattering. - Jonathan Yardley


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2010 10:26 am 
Can I please be included in the section for model fitting supplier ? I do supply 1/24 , 1/72 , 1/96 , 1/350 scales www.johnrhaynes.com


Report this post
Top
  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2011 6:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 12:16 pm
Posts: 15
Steve,
I just printed off your list. I personally want to thank you for taking the time to post such a treasure trove of information. I want to scatch-build an ironclad someday (if and when I can decide on a subject) and this is a great starting point. Thank you again.
Bruce


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group