The Ship Model Forum

The Ship Modelers Source
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:47 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Deck rail methods
PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 3:31 pm 
Hello All,

New to the board but been admiring the gallery models for awhile. I'm an experienced modeler but in other genres. Just a few ventures, a long time ago, into 1/700s and must admit didn't build them very well.

The question I have is regarding attaching deck railings. I've search the forum (and a much broader search on the web and other sites) but really couldn't find a "Railing for Dummies" type tutorial. If any has links of old posts or sites, please let me know.

This is all in preparation for the 1/350 Akagi. This time I plan to do a decent job. I've worked with PE in other genres (1/43 autos, 1/16 armor, and 1/48 airplane) so I know some basics. I guess railings just scares the s***t out of me

Post subject: Re: deck rail methods
PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 3:57 pm 

Location: Waiting for HMS Glatton in resin. Not holding my breath!!
Dear Guest, sorry but you didn't post your name,

Don't worry, it really isn't that hard, believe me.

Firstly, choose the right type of railing. Make sure you get the type that has a continuous rail going along the bottom, representing the waterway at the deck edge. Don't try using the type that has individual stanchions that have to be stuck to the ship.

Secondly, cutting. Do this on a hard surface, such as a piece of glass or a ceramic wall tile. Take a new scalpel blade, Swann-Morton surgical type, rather than X-Acto, which are far too brittle and won't stand up to cutting metal. Cut the railing by pressing straight down, not using any kind of sawing motion which would distort the railing.