The Ship Model Forum

The Ship Modelers Source
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:45 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 172 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next
PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2014 7:03 pm 

I would like to share with you an account on the construction of my 1:700 Combrig HMS Tiger.
She will be shown on a common seascape with my recently completed SMS Derfflinger that some of you might have seen.
The diorama will feature the two ships in early 1919 - SMS Derfflinger at anchor with HMS Tiger steaming past her.

Contrary to what I have posted before this is intended to be a much more detailed account on this build, so it will inevitably become
a lenghty one as alas, I am a slow builder with limited time for my hobby.
I hope however that the ones who persevere will find something enjoyable or useful in it.
I am through the planning phase and acquired all the stuff deemed necessary for the build.

As you can see the hull has been screwed to its temporary base and the kit parts are surrounded by the eleven photoetched frets of the prodigious Artist Hobby update set as well as two sets from WEM and ten from Flyhawk and Lion Roar.
The Artist Hobby set also includes replacement main turrets of resin plus turned brass barrels for the main and secondary armament.
I plan to use some Admiralty Model Works boats and aircraft.

The printed reference can also be seem in one of the pictures - besides the books featured I have collected a number of photographs from the internet. Jim Baumann has kindly sent me some others.

I will rely on the pictures of the models built by Vicent c.f. Lau, Mike McCabe and John Werler in the first place, as they feature a state of the ship more closely related to the one I intend to depict than the others I could find, but studied photos of every build I came accross throughout my search. I would like to thank everybody for making accessible images of their superb models.