The Ship Model Forum

The Ship Modelers Source
It is currently Thu Oct 21, 2021 9:16 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2015 10:31 pm 

OK, someone had to do it and I'm the only one crazy enough to do so. I am taking on Merit's new Big E,

My initial solution for over sized hull plating was to cut half of them off :heh:
Attachment:
image.jpg
image.jpg [ 115.4 KiB | Viewed 8705 times ]

It has been reported that the fit around the hangar deck leaves something to be desired, I agree but some of it may have been caused by my waterlining and not reinforcing the hull.
Attachment:
image2.jpg
image2.jpg [ 124.47 KiB | Viewed 8705 times ]

The forecastle went together fairly easily. I question some of the accuracy, but I would not say I am an expert. I was using what few photos of the Big E are available and a set of General Plans for the Yorktown as built. The two raised platforms running fore and aft are on the blueprints as Catapult machinery access areas, seems like they would not be as open as depicted. There is also 2 extra supports(not seen in this image) that are in the kit but not on the plans. I am also skeptical for the two 50 cal machine guns it calls for. I know they were trying to make her bristle with guns but I think by Santa Cruz they would have removed them all and this might be left over Yorktown engineering.
Attachment:
image3.jpg
image3.jpg [ 126.47 KiB | Viewed 8705 times ]

Here we see the forward section of the flight deck fitted, Starting to look like something. I wanted this to be a pretty straight out of the box build as I am trying to reignite a 3 year modeling slump, but you can see already where I am trying to add missing details like ammo passing chutes on the gun decks. I will probably also go with AM 40mm's as the kits are the wrong style carried by the E and I have heard bad things about the 20's. We shall see as time goes on.
Attachment:
image4.jpg
image4.jpg [ 118.26 KiB | Viewed 8705 times ]