The Ship Model Forum

The Ship Modelers Source
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 9:15 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2016 2:23 am 
SovereignHobbies
SovereignHobbies

To be fair, the absolute last thing I needed was another ship project on the go, but I got talked in to it through a Facebook group I co-admin which initiated a group build themed on the Battle of the Atlantic. Being an admin, I thought it bad form not to join in, but realised that finishing a ship would be good for me so decided a fresh start with lowered aspirational standards might actually help.

I therefore took a bit of a detour on the way home from Duxford in July and dropped in at Hannants in Lowestoft. In retrospect, there are postal companies available which would have saved an enourmous amount of time droning down mile after mile of the dullest roads in Britain, but never mind.

Monday 1st August - sprayed decks C01 Teak, washed with Tamiya IJN Deck Tan then Tamiya Earth Brown by brush, then a final wash of sprayed thinned Colourcoats ACRN10 Dark Earth. Steel decks masked and sprayed RN01 507A Dark Grey

Tuesday 2nd - Steel decks masked and sprayed RN01 507A Dark Grey. Brush painted bits, ventilators, turret barbettes etc on the decks. That was boring enough. Sawed the lower hull in half. Fixed the B turret barbette.

Wednesday 3rd - Glued the hull back together and filled with Squadron green putty. Spent the modelling time that evening with my youngest daughter who wanted to do some of her Airfix Hurricane.

Thursday 4th - Sanded the hull join, sprayed hull RN03 507C then masked for RN10 WA White, finally masking over the WA White and spraying the B5. Demasked, and left it to harden.

Friday 5th - Masked and sprayed RN06 MS3, then masked and sprayed RN04 MS1. Demasked, went and got a beer.