The Ship Model Forum

The Ship Modelers Source
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 4:07 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 164 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next
PostPosted: Fri Jan 05, 2018 1:50 pm 

Good evening all.

In some ways I feel a little guilty at posting yet another 'Hood' model in construction thread, after all we seem to have so many? but in my defence, it is a truly beautiful ship, it's my all time favourite ship, having built a number of models both kit and scratch built in the past and the Trumpeter 1/200 kit plus Pontos and perhaps a little scratch do I feel warrant the number of build threads currently seen in the 'Work in progress' forum and what harm could one more do...:).

As i'm new to this forum perhaps I should give a little info on my credentials, i am a professional model maker/engineer by trade with some 30 years of experience in this field, most of which working in TV/film productions for which I credited in many well known blockbuster films . Today i would call myself semi-retired although if asked for help on a production that needs my skills, if it interests me and if asked by a person/company I respect I will take on the odd job. Just before Xmas i was approached about building a 20' pirate ship, if the budget is approved i will do this job, it will be fun, it will probably require filming in warmer climes and you get to blow stuff up, how could i possibly turn it down....:) I will add that although I haven't built much naval models of late I do have a long history in making model warships, such models were always my first choice although for the last 10 years i have been much more involved in the 'live steam' locomotive scene of which I am very much still busy making a large Gresley pacific which will make the 'Hood' model a fairly slow build, hopefully not too slow.