The Ship Model Forum

The Ship Modelers Source
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:12 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2012 7:56 am 

Hey, guys!

I just want to kick off this thread to get some feedback. I won't be doing this model this year, but it's something I have been thinking about for a long, long time, and only recently it came into a possibility for me.

One of the first real adult books I ever read was The Hunt for Red October. That book exposed me to the Typhoon-class. While I read that book I studied every picture of the Typhoons I possibly could. I drew pictures of what the Red October was supposed to look like and all that.

I loved the sub from the book but not so much the movie. I saw a completed Revell Red October once I went into a model shop in Austin Texas. I thought it was so cool with the towed sonar on top of the rudder and the detail of the anechoic tiles, but I realized that it was a repackage of a normal Typhoon. It didn't have enough missile hatches, 20 instead of 26, the detailing was way over detailed and way inaccurate to the real Typhoons of any kind, and it did not have the intakes and exhaust of the silent propulsion drive, etc.

Sean Haley's Typoon projects:

...then I came across the Alanger Typhoon...what sweet possibilities opened to me. It looks to be such a master piece that it's a shame they are not produced any more. Dragon or someone should consider buying the rights to the model and start reproducing the kits. They captured the unique shape to the missile hatches, too, and that's really cool.

Andrea De Bonis' Alanger:

I was poking around on the net, I came across the Revell Red October on ebay, and though, "oh, this POS again," but then I saw it was only $15.99! Whaaaaaaaaaaaat?! There were multiple kits for $15.99! A POS is worth $15.99!!! Suddenly all those alterations I had in mind to make an accurate Red October flipped from "forget it" to "feasible". So I bought 3 of them. Easy day.