The Ship Model Forum

The Ship Modelers Source
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:40 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2017 1:32 pm 

Fast Armored Air Boat FA-32 - Kit-Bash Updated From The Fertile Imagination of My Youth

I must admit that I was a more fearless modeler when I was young. I would try any technique; build any type of model in any type of scheme. Coupled with a child's more fertile imagination, inspired especially by the gadgets I saw in James Bond movies (queue up “Thunderball” and “You Only Live Twice”) and Sci-Fi films, provided plenty of opportunities for off-the-grid gonzo modeling projects. One of the maxims I have followed regarding my hobby is, "Never throw anything out". My spare parts box was first established in 1962 and, to the chagrin of my wife, has been growing along with my kit collection steadily ever since. I often raid my box of spares, the oldest pieces of which I keep in my father's WWII US Army footlocker - a more fitting place, I could not think of, but what to do with the rest? That is a question that has both vexed me and inspired me from time to time.

How about making a model from just the spare parts?