The Ship Model Forum

The Ship Modelers Source
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:19 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2013 11:25 am 

I've been working with 3D printing for model ship parts for a couple years now... anything from a single anchor, to those tricky cowl vents, to major portions of an upgraded model. See some of the items at my 3D printing thread on RC Groups:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthre ... st23219786 (with some 11 pages already).

3D printing is NOT the equivalent of a Star Trek replicator, where you can just push a button and get a perfect medium-rare burger, or a finished ship hull. You need to do a lot of work first in the design stage... and then when you get the parts, they may well be usable, or not! You will usually NOT get parts equivalent to well-molded bits from Tamiya... more like parts from HAWK, salvaged from under a garbage pile after 20 years' exposure. Really, parts are ROUGH, even from the finest processes available... and forget about these cheap desk top machines that get all the hype, you can't print a usable model part (much less a working gun!) with these things.

That said, parts designed in a way that allow for secondary finishing (filling and sanding) can be wonderful. The link above goes directly to a complex modern pilot house which has flat sides everywhere, no projections... this allowed me to rough sand the striations down, then fill the porous sintered nylon powder structure with polyurethane, then finish sand that... all in preparation for future coats of primer-surfacer before I even think of a finish coat.

This project also give me confidence that I can tackle my new job with nearly 100% 3D printed parts.

Attachments:
File comment: 3D printed pilot house
d_7014.JPG
d_7014.JPG [ 134.9 KiB | Viewed 14161 times ]

Shapeways Shop: [redacted]
MWS Gallery: http://www.modelshipgallery.com/gallery/users/Pat-Matthews/user-index.html